Dear Photography,

1655098_832087746806601_1445773483_o.jpg

I have previously written about you. I just wanted to tell you something, something that I have wanted to do in a long time:

I love you.

I love you for the fact that you gave me the courage and the opportunity to easily meet and interact with people. You gave me the courage to do it. Nowadays, in the age of technology, where individuals are always connected and wired up, but emotionally distant, you, through one simple tool, the camera, I have diminished the gap.

Who would have imagined that I, a shy and introvert person could have encounters with countless people on the streets, which often turned out to become street and photojournalistic photo shootings:

I must say that the most heart-warming and full of emotions pictures that I have taken are extracts of strangers day to day life. I was acknowledging the beauty of common things, things that I haven’t noticed until you have appeared in my life. Now, I can’t change the way in which I view the word. I see beauty, shapes, light and shadow in everything that surround us.

Here is just a little taste:

BeFunky Collage

You can see more on:

You made me who I am today. You have also been a platform through which I have met several people who have inspired and still inspire me. You have introduced me to mentors, who willingly shared their knowledge, to the people whose life I look up to, the curators and critics I have met that helped me make sense of what your mysteries mean.

I love you photography for showing me the beauty of the different places of the world. You have shown me a path through which I have learned to enjoy the beauty of small things: the details of the pavement, the way the light hits the trees, the grains of sand, the peaks of the mountains and the list can continue.

I love you photography for showing me the beauty of the different places of the world. You have shown me a path through which I have learned to enjoy the beauty of small things: the details of the pavement, the way the light hits the trees, the grains of sand, the peaks of the mountains and the list can continue.

Thank you for showing me both the work of street photographers and the photographers in person, people who can explore and circle around the city day in and day out.  Thank you for introducing me to the great photojournalistic works. It shows me the ways in which media can manipulate the socio-political problems our world is facing, it keeps me informed about the whole process of making the news. Thank you for showing me contemporary art.

Here is a touch of my portraits (the photography style which I like the best)

BeFunky C2ollage.jpg

Photography in the hands of the artist photographer becomes a whole different thing. Photography, your democratic nature has enabled individuals to wield you in whatever they see fit.The creation of these individuals made me feel a spectrum of emotions and helps me identify my humanity and place myself.

I love you photography for preserving my memories. You are the ultimate souvenir. I have cried over the memories you have left me, ripped them off and often laugh over the happy ones. You were a way for me to remember things I lost and the things that I cherish. You were there for me when I need to make sense of something happening in my life.

 

Every image is a diary entry worth a thousand words. I will change and forget. My face will shows signs of age and I will evolve as and individual, but the pictures, the person who I am in the pictures will be forever frozen. These pictures are an always reminder of what I was, of how I changed and adjusted as I grew older. Pictures are the proof that I exist and I am here, on this Earth.

I will change and forget. My face will show signs of age and I will evolve as and individual, but the pictures, the person who I am in the pictures will be forever frozen. These pictures are an always reminder of what I was, of how I changed and adjusted as I grew older. Pictures are the proof that I exist and I am here, on this Earth.

In case you haven’t got bored, here is an example of some of my architecture/landscape photography:

BeF22unky Collage.jpg

You have always been a great witness to things that humanity has done and I have used photography to document some of the most memorable moments of my life. From the most exciting such as documenting my experiences seeing a whole new city too, the banalest as having a simple conversation with a bus driver, to my grandmother’s smile. It’s the little things that make you truly beautiful.

From the most exciting such as documenting my experiences seeing a whole new city too, the banalest as having a simple conversation with a bus driver, to my grandmother’s smile. It’s the little things that make you truly beautiful.

Photography, you are not just a hobby for me. You are the way in which I see the world now. You were and will always be, my first passion and love.

Yours always,

Mimi.

 

Leave a Reply

