Dear cigarette,

pexels-photo-300619.jpeg

https://www.pexels.com

Because I need to be fast, as you only last less than 5 minutes, I have decided to write a bullet list of reasons in the fear of losing you forever:

  • It bothers me the most those who are lighting up their cigarettes during rush hour
  • It bothers me to inhale cigars.
  • It bothers me to inhale your smoke in spaces which have a poor ventilation
  • It bothers me when my clothes aren’t smelling of perfume anymore, but of your lovely smoke while in the smoking area
  • It mostly bothers me the smoke I inhale from you, my own cigarette.
  • It bothers me that I have started coughing in the morning
  • It bothers me that you have affected my own voice
  • It bothers me that I always think it’s a good time to light you up
  • It bothers me that I can’t quit
  • It bothers me that I have become addicted
  • It bothers me that there is no non-smoker asking me what do I do?
  • It bothers me that there is no one keeping me distracted, so I come back to you
  • It bothers me that while outside, I feel the urge to consume you
  • It bothers me that when I see others smoke, I want to smoke too
  • It bothers me that I smoke cigarettes after cigarettes
  • It bothers me that I acknowledge my addiction
  • It bothers me that I can keep my mind pre-occupied, but after a few hours I’m under your control
  • It bothers me that smoking you had become a habit
  • It bothers me that even when I am not allowed to smoke, I feel that urge
  • It bothers me that I mostly find myself questioning the staff if I can smoke or not
  • It bothers me that I can’t drink my coffee anymore without smoking you
  • It bothers me that after a lunch, I need to consume you
  • It bothers me that every time I have a lunch break, I end up smoking
  • It bothers me that every time I am waiting, I feel like I need to do something, ending up smoking you
  • It bothers me that I even freeze, or stay in the pouring rain, only to smoke you
  • It bothers me to always see those inhumane pictures of perforated livers
  • It bothers me to always see that Smoking causes that, or that, or that. I know it very well.
  • It bothers me that I feel guilty about smoking you.
  • It bothers me that I feel sorry for myself.
  • It bothers me that I feel that non-smokers are happier than I am.
  • It bothers me that I feel sick.
  • It bothers me that my teeth had become yellowish.
  • It bothers me that my breath stinks after smoking you, especially in the morning.
  • It bothers me that I felt cool when I have first started smoking you.
  • It bothers me that you have my life into your control.

And… you have burned.

Yours sincerely,

Mimi.

 

Leave a Reply

